top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Burton Chronicles

Wedding Day Disaster

Updated: Feb 22, 2022




As soon as you feel the engagement ring slide onto your finger, the excitement for your wedding day overpowers your mind. Well, it did for me. It wasn't long after we got engaged, that we had decided to boost our wedding date up the ladder. We wanted it so bad, so as soon as the date was picked the excitement cloudy our minds. We couldn't wait.


As a young couple, we had decided that we were going to have a small wedding, we got in touch with Priory Hall, we went for our pre-marriage interview and of course, we smashed it. We picked the date for our wedding! Of course, I was bursting at the seams. The whole wedding dress, hundreds of guests, big show.. wasn't important to me. The most important thing for me was getting married to the love of my life on our special day and I couldn't wait



Look how beautiful the weather was!


Priory Hall, Priory Park, Dudley, DY1 4EU

9:30am


The best day of my life! Our allotted time was 10:00 am on the 29th of July 2019. Fortunately, we had arrived early, they had an earlier time to marry us, so of course, we said yes!

We were so happy to have both sets of parents and an extra special guest, that we both love and adore, his nan! The most wonderful people in the world.


When we went into the room, we had to speak to the registrar, she was there to just double check we were happy with going ahead, which of course we agreed! Ben made me have the giggles just before the ceremony, the lady had asked for the rings, to which he proceeded to pull the bag from his suit. I think he was nervous because without realising he had pulled out his button bag which had his spare suit buttons in! The laugh we all got!


Soon after, everyone piled into the room and took their seats! We both had to stand up and face one another, I could see the glow in his eyes, with a hint of nerves but so was I! I was facing him, so I could see our parents behind him, of course, my mom was crying. She has a heart of pure gold! I was trying not to mess up my vows in the process. Ben of course got everyone laughing! HE PUT MY WEDDING RING ON THE WRONG FINGER.


We just all bowed our heads and started laughing. Never known another bride, to take her wedding ring off the wrong finger during the ceremony and having to place it on the right finger, that man just keeps us laughing.


Once we were pronounced as Mr & Mrs. Burton, we all left the room and made our way outside in the beautiful sunshine. We headed over to the grounds of the Priory, where we all spend our time taking our pictures and making memories that we will all hold forever.



We had already organised a nice meal after our ceremony at The Half Penny Farm. We had been there a handful of times and we have always had an amazing meal and we thought it would be perfect to finish off a wonderful day. We were both travelling there with my mom and dad, we had gotten into the car and headed for the pub. Unfortunately, there was loads of traffic, the roads were packed, but that wasn't going to ruin our day. W sat at the traffic lights, 2 minute drive from the pub, we could physically see the sign, that's how close we were! The excitement was rising higher and higher.

The lights turned green, unfortunately, the cars weren't moving, it was packed but that didn't stop the woman behind!


Before we had even acknowledged what was happening, the woman in the car behind us had crashed into the back of my dad's car. With the sudden jolt of the car smashing into the back of us, the pure fear and uncertainty rose within me. I had whipped my neck in the crash as my head was facing my Husband as we were talking and having a laugh, so when the jolt happened my head wasn't straight ahead, the pain was excruciating, especially when the shooting pains happened in my back. Of course, my mom and dad got out of the car to sort out what had happened, all I could do was sit there and wonder what on earth the woman was doing, we were at a standstill.


We proceeded to the pub, ate such a wonderful meal, and cut our cake trying to forget what had happened while we were celebrating, but of course, that was the only thing many of us could focus on. We left the pub and proceeded back to my parent's home, luckily my dad had a dashcam within the car so we could see what had happened.

The woman, along with her two young children were in the car, you can see in the footage that she was holding her phone in her left phone looking down, she wasn't even paying attention. She had a child in the front seat and one in the back, while watching the footage you could see that the child had hit his head at the time of the collision, smacked it off the dashboard, it was horrifying. All because she couldn't put her phone down and decided to text while driving, so not only did she ruin our wedding day, she ruined the atmosphere and she has ruined her children too, all because she couldn't put her phone down. It just shows that things can change within minutes.


Be Safe, Be Cautious.




4 views0 comments

Comentários


Os comentários foram desativados.
bottom of page