top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Burton Chronicles

My Top Christmas Movies |

Updated: Feb 21, 2022


Christmas is one of my favourite times of the year, I always enjoy sitting down in front of the TV watching my favourite Christmas movies of all time.



If you are the type of person to not know what to watch around the festive period, these films may be your answer! Have a good read-through to see if these are the type of films you would want to add to your watch list around Christmas.




The Grinch


Everyone I know enjoys The Grinch, It's one of the best movies that I have encountered over the years. My mom loves The Grinch and I think it just unravels from her, I love the film.. always makes me cry.


We are talking about the 2000 movie, starring Jim Carrey.


In my opinion, he was misunderstood. When he was a little Grinch, he would be bullied by his classmates, just because he was different! I can honestly say, if I was there.. he would have been my best friend! The Grinch was constantly bullied for not being like his bullies, he turned into a grouch! He hated Christmas down the line, he would ruin it for everyone else the best he could, in a way he looked at it as.. why should they enjoy themselves when I could.. and I don't blame him! You could tell him and Cindy were going to be friends in the end! It's such a heart-warming story, Cindy helped him enjoy Christmas and nobody was scared of him anymore, he was no longer alone! I will say Jim Carrey smashed this role!



 



Dear Secret Santa




Dear Secret Santa is one of the films I could watch on repeat all year round.

It's such a heart-warming story. Jennifer lives away from home, she had a phone call telling her that her father had a fall, so of course, she made her way home. During her visit, looking after her father, she had received a card from a secret Santa in her mailbox. Every time she put the Christmas card back in the post box, it would disappear and the reply card would be in there. It was a secret love story.


Until it turns out, that the secret Santa who was sending Jennifer the cards was Jack, her old childhood neighbour who died many years before on Christmas day in a car accident. It seemed that their lives had crossed over and they were in a time loop, Jack was still alive in that period, whereas Jennifer and her friends were alive in the other period. Jack was always behind, telling Jennifer that he had spoken to her father that particular day, however, he never left the house on the day in question!


It's a real mind fuzz, but you need to watch it and see what happens! Always makes me cry and it's always my go-to film! If you are intrigued as much as I was, it was out in 2013!!






 

Christmas Carol


Now we all have our favourite Christmas Carol versions. However, this has got to be one of the best ones ever!



This version of the Christmas Carol was released in 2000. I must say, Ross Kemp was amazing in the way he portrayed his character.

Ross Kemp played Eddie Scrooge, he was a loan shark who didn't care about consequences, he happily walked into a woman's home that owed him money, in front of her children on within the Christmas period, pick up the TV, asked if she had his payment which of course she didn't, so he proceeded to throw the TV off the balcony. Eddie Scrooge wasn't bothered.. he had a terrible reputation.


Eddie constantly made excuses as to why he was so uncaring, so unloving but he learns the difference when three ghosts visit him one night. Past, Present, Future. They teach him a lesson or two! Eddie Scrooge gets a shock of his life!


I always look forward to Christmas Day as they play this version of The Christmas Carol early! It's just one of the films that you must watch.



 


Jack Frost


Show me a person who hasn't cried at Jack Frost! I WILL WAIT...

Everyone I know, or have known.. has cried at Jack Frost. Every time this film plays, there better be tissues nearby!


This film was released in 1998, it never gets old.





This film is based on keeping your family close. Jack Frost, was a father who couldn't keep his promises, he forever promised his son that he would do things with him, he would show up to his games.. he never did. Jack was always too busy for his family.

Jack Frost, ended up dying a year later in a car accident, a year later he returns! However, he doesn't return to his normal self, of course, that would be too weird.. but he returns as a snowman! Jack spends all of his time making sure he puts everything right before he has to go forever, however in the process... his son tries his best to make sure his dad doesn't melt!


This film is pure tears!



 

The Snowman


The Snowman! The Snowman! The Snowman!


If I said those two words near my family, there would be chaos. We all love the snowman, it's one of the films that have to be watched at Christmas. The snowman was out in 1982 and since then, it just gets better and better. I just love how there isn't any speaking, I love how you can watch the film and understand what's happening just by what's happening. I just love how peaceful it is while watching it.


Everyone will know that the song which plays in the film is sung by Aled Jones, who sang the cover of Walking In The Air.


The films get better and better every year, they are worth a watch.





 

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Os comentários foram desativados.
bottom of page